Busy Times

Wow… how busy?

The last few weeks have been stunning in the amount of things done, places and events visited, the Diamond Jubilee – and this is just the tip of the Iceberg.

With the arrival of “Gabsatrucker” in the UK, all hell had broken loose to get her to see what she wished to, without rushing her feet off and in a manner for which I could keep to my own schedule also.

First up was the Google Big Tent event which you can see in an older post, then to cheer Sue Black on in the BUPA London 10k followed by a smack-up meal in St James Park with her family.

On then to see my sister in Witney and spend the day with her before deciding to take Gabby to land of skirt wearing men – Scotland.  Car hired, we headed off out of the warm weather and to Glasgow, Fort William, Spean Bridge, a dubious hotel in Fort Augustus, Urquhart Castle, Inverness, a mystery detour, Edinburgh, back to England and an old officers Mess as a hotel, Whitby, Strensall, York and home. We hit London again for the last day of the Diamond Jubilee before retiring to rest.

Two days later we met up with family and buried our mothers ashes before retiring for a pub lunch and as that drew to a close we moved on to RAF Brize Norton for the repatriation of a soldier from my old regiment.

We followed the men on to Oxford where we departed and headed for the Pear-tree Services for Starbucks and a little shopping. Here, as I was walking out of the place I almost walked straight into Rebekah Brooks, who gave me a double take and frankly while I’m aware of the nature of present investigations – I have to say her hair is pretty bloody awesome.

On then to find toilets in Stow-on-the-Wold, dinner in the Duke of Wellington pub in Boughton before heading home and resting.

A day out to do much needed admin (while I decided I need to change the bearing in my washing machine) and Saturday we headed to the edge of Wales… the land of dark matter, and a place called Chepstow and the infamous 1 x Botson, the Coach & Horses, the even more infamous Merick family (who have now multiplied) and the on tap home of a fine ale by the name “The Reverend James”. While still taking time out to do the things I must, talk to friends around the world, consider working on something in NYC… I woke this morning hung-over in Wales and promptly suffered all the way home. I will elaborate more on all I’ve written, but rest is needed at the moment.

Published in: on 13 September, 2015 at 20:03  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wonderingbrit.wordpress.com/2015/09/13/busy-times/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

