Down Day N Haggle

Down Day N Haggle

I woke today feeling like I’d been out on a well known British past time of binge drinking, which we class as normal – but today felt like I’d been at it for a week.
4 pints of water, 4 x 16oz mugs of coffee later and enough Ibuprofen to surgically remove my stomach lining like a cheese grater – I started to feel near normal [for me that is]DSCF0608

Gabby on the other hand took off to have her finger and toe nails turned into M&M’s.

I sat around and took pictures of the place we’re staying and by mid afternoon everyone was home and everyone feeling near normal, so the quest for food followed and was DSCF0574sorted out about 50 yrds away – nevertheless we are in LA, so we took the car anyway.

Over lunch plans for the afternoon were made; Gabby was going off to the Mall to find some comfortable “run-recovery” footwear and I was going to get the Snot Rocket washed.

Now ALL men know the following : If a lady knows exactly what she wants to shop for and knows where it is – she will get it (but only after comparing the exact same thing in every shop that carries it). However, if she knows what she wants but is going to search for it – she will NOT get it… But, she will buy things totally unrelated – as such the said shoes weren’t purchased.

We went off down into Pasadena to drop Gabby off and I headed to the local Mexican car wash…

Now, I don’t how things work in this regard here, but soon felt that I being taken for a fool, especially when I was being told what needed cleaning and why… heck when testing Land Rovers we’d drown them in mud, then fix them up like new and send them on to the customer and I was now being told various things the obviously some people in LA believe.
So I told them exactly what I wanted and nothing more. For this he wanted to charge me $65.00 carwash

That wasn’t going to happen!!

Yer see, there were these things called “signs” about with all the prices on them and while I didn’t go to Oxford University – I can (amazingly) count due to the number of fingers and toes I own. I didn’t want a machine auto wash because of issues with the rear door, I wanted a thorough handwash and wipe down. This is $39. But I also wanted the wheels cleaning, body waxing and Rain-X on the windshield/screen… AND the interior windows cleaning.

The haggling started…

As this was going on, two guys had started vacuuming out the interior who I had to stop.
The figures from the guy were all over the place… so finally I said “look $45 the lot and you’re doing very well out of it”… He stopped, looked at me and said “you a businessman!” – I said, no mate, You are.

Finally he accepted the $45 and while I still felt I was getting ripped off – this was soon belayed with what followed; 3 guys spent 1hr 45mins working like mad on the car, meticulously taking time on the wheels, the wheel arches, the roof and roof rails. All plastics were cleaned and treated properly and every single mark and dead bug remains removed. They did a frankly stunning job and the Snot Rocket now looks good enough for the two big white strips that I feel it needs on its centreline from front to rear, along with police siren and flashing grill lights.

Even Gabby was impressed as she hauled her shopping bags in (containing nothing she had gone shopping for). And as the day drew to a close Gabby took to taking pics on the return to the hotel.

Tomorrow – Fender USA

Published in: on 22 January, 2013 at 22:41  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wonderingbrit.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/down-day-n-haggle/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

